The internet knows I’m in Mexico. Websites come up in Spanish, ads on YouTube are often in Spanish, Netflix doesn’t have all the same shows here. One thing that hasn’t changed, though, is what’s on my computer’s calendar.

I would have thought Apple would have figured out where I am, too. Nope. The calendar on my Mac says “daylight saving time” is March 10. That’s not true where I live.

In Baja California Sur, we don’t spring forward an hour until April 7. It’s always on the first Sunday in April here.

Horario de verano is how you say daylight saving time in Spanish. The literal translation is summer schedule.

Baja is divided into two states. The north will change this weekend with California. The north is also on California (Pacific) time, while the south is on U.S. mountain time.

The reason daylight saving time is different is because BCS wants to be aligned with what mainland Mexico does, while BCN doesn’t want to interfere with commerce with the United States.

It’s not just Baja Norte that sticks with when the U.S. springs forward or falls back an hour. In December 2009, Mexico’s Congress passed a law allowing 10 border areas to mirror what the U.S. does. It wasn’t that long ago when Baja Norte was the only state in Mexico to observe daylight saving time. It was 1996 when most Mexican states started to observe the time change. This marks the 100th year the United States has observed daylight saving time.

Pin It on Pinterest